Whole Wheat Dark Chocolate Banana Muffins with Greek Yogurt

Preparation Time: 20 minutes
Baking Time: 30-35 minutes
Total Time: ~1 hour
Makes 12-16 Muffins

For some reason, the batch of bananas that I bought this week turned so brown so quickly! They usually take around 6 days to turn from almost-yellow to yellow-with-brown-spots. This time, it took 3 days! Maybe it’s the warm weather that Massachusetts has been experiencing lately.

Speaking of which, I’ve been loving the spring weather so much. Since this week was February break, I went into Boston with my dad on Thursday and shopped around Newbury Street. I also tried sweetgreen for the first time! It was so delicious, and it made me feel super healthy, too. Instead of ordering one of their original bowls, I decided to make my own.

fullsizeoutput_414
Doesn’t it look amazing?

If you guys ever go to sweetgreen, their miso sesame ginger vinaigrette is a must-try. I feel like while the contents and ingredients of a salad are important, the dressing is what really elevates it. A salad/bowl can have all my favorite foods, but if the dressing/sauce isn’t tasty, the salad isn’t tasty.

Also, I went to Forever 21 and got a $30 tan tote bag for $2.45! After that, right across the street was Brandy Melville which I’ve been wanting to shop at for 3 years but never got the chance to! These two stores made my day.

img_0294.jpg

Now, onto the recipe! (A.K.A. more health talk haha). After I baked my Banana Oat Cookie Bites 2 weeks ago, I went nuts at the grocery store last weekend and bought a ton of baking supplies, mainly dark chocolate. For awhile, I was searching up recipes for brownies to use my cocoa powder for, but while scrolling through healthy recipes on BuzzFeed, I discovered these dark chocolate banana muffins, posted by their Goodful series.

However, instead of following their recipe exactly, I tweaked it just a tiny bit. Instead of using whole wheat flour, I used whole wheat pastry flour that my dad had accidentally bought instead of regular whole wheat flour. To my luck, this actually made the muffins less tough than they are when I use regular whole wheat flour.

fullsizeoutput_438

I’m normally not a huge fan of chocolate flavored things. The only chocolate things I really enjoy are just pure pieces of chocolate, like truffles, chocolate bark, or squares. Either that, or chocolate covered fruit, nuts, and pretzels. If it’s mousse, pie, pudding, all that stuff, don’t give it to me. But brownies are great (especially slutty ones, I swear those will be the death of me).

fullsizeoutput_439

Despite my confusing relationship with chocolate, I decided to give these muffins a go, and I’m so happy I did! According to my parents, they’re the best things I’ve ever baked. It’s also partially due to the fact that they’re obsessed with dark chocolate. My mom called them “heavenly” and “like ambrosia of the Greek gods”.

fullsizeoutput_442

They’re super ~moist~, fluffy, rich in chocolate, and have just the right amount of sweet. Like any other recipe, feel free to tweak anything you’d like, but read the notes at the end of the recipe to make sure you’re not changing anything important. Also, make sure your bananas are overripe and brown to add extra sweetness.

fullsizeoutput_445

Ingredients

  • 2 overripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (or any milk you prefer)
  • 1/2 maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup dark cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350°F
2. In a large mixing bowl, mash bananas. Whisk in the eggs. Stir in the yogurt, milk, maple syrup, and vanilla until fully incorporated.
3. In a medium mixing bowl, mix together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Stir until everything is just incorporated. Over-mixing will result in tough and rubbery muffins so be careful! Fold in the chocolate chips.
4. Coat muffin tin with cooking spray. Fill each about 3/4 full. These muffins don’t rise too much. Bake 30-35 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.
5. Remove from oven and let the muffins rest for 2 minutes. Use a knife to release from muffin tin and cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Enjoy!

Muffins stay fresh at room temperature for 5 days.

Notes

1. If you're going to use regular whole wheat flour, I suggest adding maybe a tablespoon more milk or yogurt since WW flour tends to be more tough and rubbery.
2. Not a fan of too much chocolate? Just switch out the cocoa powder for the same amount of flour!
3. Like I mentioned above, you can add more or less maple syrup if you'd like, but be sure to even out the adding or loss off a wet ingredient by adding or removing more milk or yogurt.
Leave a Reply

