Dark Chocolate Swirl Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Preparation Time: 20 minutes
Baking Time: 45-70 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour - 1.5 hours
Makes: One 9"x5" loaf, about 12 slices

Happy Memorial Day weekend everyone! I hope everyone’s starting to feel the happiness and warmth that comes with the start of summer. I know people here in Massachusetts could really use some sun.

I’ve got two finals down and three to go; two on Tuesday and one on Thursday. I can’t wait for all the testing to end and for SUMMER TO COME!

Luckily, I’ve already done a lot of studying, so I decided to give myself a break this weekend and enjoy some time with family. My cousin, who has been living in the town next to us for the past few years, is moving to NYC for a new job soon! Since he’s busy on actual Memorial Day, my family decided to have our gathering on Saturday this year.

To celebrate (and since I had two super overripe bananas), I went ahead and baked a banana bread for him as a good luck gift. Do you guys see a pattern happening with bananas? Anyways, my cousin is a big chocolate fan, but I didn’t want to just mix chocolate chips in. So, I searched online for 20 minutes and finally found this recipe that features a fancy-schmancy chocolate swirl in the bread.

IMG_1452.JPG

However, I didn’t get to take many pictures because everyone was busy in the kitchen and the whole place was just a giant mess. Also, since the bread is for my cousin, I didn’t get to cut into it to capture the inside.

Remember to stay tuned until the end for notes and substitutions!


Ingredients

  • 2 overripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/8 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or regular W.W.)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325˚F.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mash bananas. Whisk in eggs. Then mix in the Greek yogurt, maple syrup, and vanilla
  3. Add in the flour and baking powder and fold to combine. Do not over-mix the batter or the bread will turn out tough and not fluffy!
  4. In a separate small bowl, microwave the chocolate chips in 30 second intervals, stirring between each. It should look smooth and silky when fully melted.
  5. Take about a cup of the banana bread batter and add it to the melted chocolate. Stir to fully combine
  6. In a greased 9″x5″ loaf pan, start by pouring half the banana bread batter, then half the chocolate mixture, the banana batter again, and finish with the chocolate layer.
  7. Using a knife, fork, or toothpick, swirl the batters together.
  8. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  9. Remove from oven and let cool for 15 minutes. Slice and serve or cover with foil to keep fresh.

And there you have it, a whole wheat banana bread with a dark chocolate swirl! I hope you guys enjoy this recipe. Also, I promise to those of you who hate bananas that a non-banana recipe will be coming out soon!

IMG_1456.JPG


Notes

  1. I used an 8″x3.75″ disposable foil loaf pan. Since the surface was smaller, I ended up having to bake my bread for 1 hour 20 minutes at 325˚F. You can try baking it at 350˚F for 1 hour and see how it turns out.
  2. If you’re lactose intolerant, feel free to use coconut, soy, or almond yogurt. Just make sure that if there’s a lot of sugar in there, decrease some of the maple syrup. If the yogurt is vanilla flavored, add 3/4 teaspoon of vanilla instead.
  3. Honey can be substituted for maple syrup.
  4. Use whatever type of chocolate that you want! Maybe even try butterscotch or peanut butter chips…
  5. As always, feel free to add any mix-ins your heart desires! Walnuts or even more chocolate chips would be great, too!

This recipe was adapted and altered a little bit from BuzzFeed Goodful’s Recipe

Leave a Reply

