April + May Favorites 2017

Hey there! I’m in such a good mood because I’m finally done with finals, and it’s finally starting to feel like spring! My friend and I just went on an hour-long walk/hike this morning. I highly recommend you all give it a try some time. It really clears your mind and gets you ready for the day.

My sister graduated high school yesterday, and I’m so incredibly proud of her. It’s been a long two years full of college talk and stress. I think my whole family can agree that we all feel peaceful now. Everything is feeling great and positive! This is why I love spring.

Speaking of spring, my April + May favorites are finally going up today! I’d like to call it a spring favorites post, since April and May are pretty much the months of spring, in my opinion.

I’ve realized that a lot of my monthly favorites don’t really fall under a specific category like beauty of fashion. I know I usually do fashion, beauty, food, music, and other, but I’m thinking of starting to not categorize them anymore. Let me know what you guys think!


1. Round Mirrored Brow Bar Sunglasses

img_1370-jpg.jpeg

I brought these sunglasses with me to China and they’re amazing! I’m not sure if they’re real glass (probably not), but they looked really cute in my pictures. Mirrored sunglasses are great for casual, informal cities like in China. Best of all, these were only $7 from Forever 21!

$6.99 at Charlotte Russe (I couldn’t find the exact pair online, but this is a similar style)

2. Chanel Chance Eau Vive – Eau de Toilette

img_1369-jpg.jpeg

Can you believe my mom didn’t want this perfume and gave it to me? I mean, I’m totally fine with that, but how can you not like it? It’s floral-fruity-fresh with a very subtle hint of musk. I think it’s the perfect scent for spring. Since I’m terrible at identifying notes in a perfume, I’ll say this: it smells exactly like the pages of a magazine (think: Elle, Marie Claire).

$102 at Sephora

3. Fujifilm Instax Mini 8

DSC_0508

I’m sure you’ve seen these all over Instagram and Pinterest by now. If you’re considering buying it, let me tell you: you go get your credit card right now and go buy this. I received this for Christmas, and I absolutely love it. Any trip I take, any big event, I have this with me.

I like how this camera is an instant camera and prints out the picture on film. Many times, pictures we take get lost in our huge camera roll on our phones, but this camera allows you to get a physical copy to hang up in your room or gift to others. The film’s a bit pricey, but it’s definitely worth it. Also, Fujifilm released there new Instax Mini 9, so this one’s on sale now!

$59 at Urban Outfitters (used to be $70)

4. Boom Chicka Pop Popcorn

dsc_0509.jpg

This sea salt popcorn is the perfect, healthy, light snack. The only ingredients in it are popcorn, sunflower oil, and sea salt. I know that there’s SkinnyPop popcorn, but I find their popcorn to be too oily and not salty enough. This one is lighter in oil with more salt which I like better. It really depends on your own taste.

You’ll most likely be able to find it at your local grocery store. If you’re more of a kettle corn fan, don’t worry, they have tons of other flavors such as white cheddar, sweet + salty, caramel, chocolate, everything!

5. Sushi

IMG_1352

I’ve been so obsessed with sushi lately. I can’t emphasize how much I love it. It’s so light and all the ingredients just go so well with the rice and seaweed. Most sushi rolls are inside out (rice on outside), but I tend to go for the ones with seaweed on outside. It prevents the rice from falling apart when you dip it into the soy sauce. My favorite rolls are avocado maki, avocado + salmon maki, and sweet potato tempura.

6. Dim Sum

IMG_1019.JPG

Can you guys tell how big of a foodie I am? When I went to China, I was pretty much living off of dim sum. I like how it’s steamed and not pan seared/fried. A lot of Chinese restaurants use way too much oil and it just makes me feel really gross. Favorite dim sum dishes: shrimp dumplings, vegetable dumplings, and vegetable bao. Highly recommend if you’re pescatarian!

7. Gossip Girl

34cc9bbc-8b85-457e-a1ad-d5a0020bb093.jpg

I just started watching Gossip Girl on Netflix (shoutout to Cole for letting me use his account), and I’m so obsessed! Every episode has a new plot twist which makes it so addicting and exciting. I’m only on season 2, but I guarantee you guys that I’ll finish it in the next few weeks!

8. I’m the One – DJ Khaled, Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper, Lil Wayne

If you haven’t listened to this song, stop right now and go listen to it. It’s so upbeat, I’m betting it’ll be the song of the summer, even if it’s only spring.

9. Middle of the Night – The Vamps, Martin Jensen

This is an EDM/pop song that I always listen to when going for a run. I love how it’s not extreme EDM but more of a mild EDM, you know? Listen to it!

10. Machu Picchu – Neon Dreams

Another song that’s perfect for running! The lyrics and beat make you feel like you’re on top of the world. Super positive and upbeat!


Yay! Another favorites post wrapped up! I hope you guys don’t mind how most of my favorites are either food or music. Not going to lie, I don’t really try new beauty/makeup items often. I’m always buying new clothes, but it’s hard photographing them. I’ll find a way soon though, promise!

Happy spring everyone! To those of you who have graduated or are done with finals: you go! To those of you who still have some finals to take: the end is near!

Leave a Reply

