My Universal Packing List

Quote of the Post:
“You were born an original. Don’t die a copy” – John Mason


I hope you all had an amazing Fourth of July full of family, friends, and BBQs! Now, it’s summer and you know what that means: traveling! I don’t know about you guys, but I feel like packing for vacation has changed a lot for me in the last few years. Back when I was a little kid, packing was so easy. All I had to do was get a bag, toss a bunch of shirts, pants, socks, underwear, and pajamas in, and I was good to go.

Now that I’m older, I’ve got so many things to take care of and remember when traveling. Night contacts, retainer, glasses, the list goes on and on. It wasn’t until April 2015 when I first traveled without my parents and was responsible for my own suitcase/belongings.

With my own suitcase, I didn’t have a bag to put everything anymore. Honestly, at that time, it was pretty exciting for me. I could finally follow all those packing and organization tips I’d seen on Instagram and Pinterest.

Along with not having a small plastic bag to use for clothes, I was no longer able to rely on my parents for bringing toiletries for our family to share. It was all on me now.

That trip to Italy in April 2015 with my school was the first time I understood how to pack carefully. That’s also when I made my universal packing list that lives in my notes app on my phone. Today, I’m presenting that giant list to all of you.

I’ve used my list for going to China, my eighth grade D.C. trip, sleep-away camp, and pretty much everything. Of course, there are going to be other things you might need to bring depending on the weather of the location or any activities you have planned. This list covers the basics plus a little more, but bikinis and ski goggles are not in included.

I’ve categorized it by type/what bag it goes into. Let’s get packing!

Clothes

  • t-shirts
  • tank tops
  • athletic shirts
  • athletic shorts
  • jean shorts
  • flowy shorts
  • leggings
  • long sleeve tee
  • sweatshirt
  • cardigan
  • jean/leather jacket
  • rain jacket
  • bras and bralettes
  • underwear
  • socks
  • pjs
  • Shoes

  • flip flops
  • sandals
  • sneakers

    Toiletry Bag #1: Daily/Nightly

  • face wash
  • moisturizer
  • sunscreen moisturizer
  • shampoo
  • conditioner
  • body wash
  • body lotion
  • loofah
  • toothbrush
  • toothpaste
  • floss
  • comb
  • hair brush
  • vaseline

    Toiletry Bag #2: Contacts/Retainer

  • retainer
  • contacts
  • Clear Care contacts case
  • two-hole contacts case
  • BioTrue
  • Refresh LiquiGel
  • Clear Care

    Toiletry Bag #3

  • perfume
  • epilator
  • razors
  • shaving cream
  • nail clipper
  • tweezers
  • acne spot treatment
  • lip balm

    Outside Pocket of Suitcase

  • hair straightener
  • heat protectant
  • exfoliator
  • purse
  • jewelry

    Carry-On Backpack

  • phone
  • phone charger
  • Fitbit charger
  • laptop
  • laptop charger
  • outlet converter
  • earphones
  • headphones
  • sheet mask
  • face lotion
  • glasses
  • sunglasses
  • water bottle
  • gum
  • wallet
  • polaroid
  • laundry bag
  • homework
  • Most Importantly: PASSPORT!!!


Aaaaand… I think that covers everything! Please feel free to use my packing list anytime you want! It’ll make packing so so soooo much easier, I promise. Hopefully you can tell how thoughtful and detailed the list is.

Happy packing,
ā€ Anissa ā€

 

Leave a Reply

